We’ve created this handy step-by-step how-to guide to explain everything from signing up and logging in to using all the functionalities the eyetime app has to offer.

How to create an account

The new update has essentially re-created eyetime from the ground up, so in order to use the app, all users (even users that have previously used eyetime before the update) have to create a new account using the same email address as their previous account.

eyetime login and signup screen eyetime account opening process eyetime account email verification screen

Step 1: Open the app and press the ‘Sign Up’ button

Step 2: Add in your name, email address and create a password. Keep in mind the name you use will be your username, and the email address you use will be used to recover your account if you forget your password or if the account is lost.

Step 3: You will then be directed to a confirmation screen letting you know your account needs verifying before you can log in. Check your email inbox for the confirmation email. Once you tap the link in the email, it will take you straight into the app.

How to find your contacts

A messenger app isn’t any fun without anyone to talk to! You no longer need to sync your contacts from your phone. You can find users by searching for their username.

Here’s how to find contacts that are already using eyetime.

finding contacts on main chat screen finding contacts main chat screen drop down menu

finding contacts search field eyetime new chat screen

Step 1: On the home screen of the app, tap the ‘+’ button in the top right corner of your main chat screen.

Step 2: In the drop-down menu, select ‘New chat’.

Step 3: Type in your contact’s name into the search bar at the top and a list of users will pop up. Find your contact, tap their name, and a new chat will be automatically opened.

Step 4: Start chatting!

How to invite your friends to eyetime

There are two ways you can invite a friend to join you on eyetime.

inviting contacts to eyetime from main chat screen invite friends to eyetime main chat window drop down

Step 1: On the main chat screen, select the ‘+’ button.

Step 2: In the drop-down menu, select ‘Invite friends’. If you’re using Android, a copy and pasteable link will pop up and you can send that to anyone you want to invite to the app. If you’re using iOS, you will need to select the way you want to send the invite by choosing from the list of apps that pops up.

*Note: if you send an SMS, you will be charged a standard SMS cost based on your service provider. The charge does not come from eyetime.

The second way to invite friends to the app is through your personal profile.

invite friends to eyetime from profile settings invite friends main profile settings page

Step 1: On the home screen, tap your profile button in the top left corner.

Step 2: Select the ‘Invite friends’ button. For Android users, the same copy and pasteable invite link will pop up that you can send to your friends. For iOS users, you’ll have to select the way you want to send the invite by choosing from the list of apps that pops up.

Once they have downloaded the app, you can now add them to your contact list.

How to start a group chat

Group chats are great to chat with friends and family all in one place.

starting a group chat fro main chat screen select new group from main chat screen drop down customise group chat - add group title field
invite friends to join group chat option find contacts search field to join group chat group chats tab under main chat screen

Step 1: To start a group chat, press the ’+’ button on the top right corner on the home screen.

Step 2: On the drop-down menu, press the ‘New group’ button

Step 3: You will be prompted to give your group a subject. This will help keep your groups organised, so we suggest naming it something that explains what your group chat is about. Once you’ve written it in the box, press ‘Create group’.

Step 4: Your new group has now been created! To add people to the group, press the icon in the top right corner.

Step 5: Search for your friends in the search bar and tap their names to add them into your chat. Now you’re ready to start chatting!

Step 6: Your group chats will all be under the ‘Groups’ tab in the ‘Chats’ section of the app (highlighted in blue at the bottom).

How to make a voice call or a video call

One of the best features in the eyetime app is the voice and video calling.

main video call and voice call screen starting a video call or voice calls from chat window video call and voice call history

Step 1: If you have never made a call in the app before, your ‘Calls’ section will look like this. To make your very first call, or to call a contact for the first time, return to an open chat with the person you want to call to get to this screen.

Step 2: Select whether you would like to make a video call or a voice call from the options on the top left corner.

Step 3: Once you have placed a call to a contact and you want to call again, you can do it from the ‘Calls’ section of the app. You can find your call history there, and you can choose to place a video call or a voice call straight from there.

How to find and follow channels

The ‘Explore’ section of the app is where you can find the feed of your followed channels and discover new ones.

main explore tab options - news, channels, places channels and communities main follow screen followed channel post - like and share

Step 1: To find new channels and communities, tap on the bottom of the screen into the ‘Explore’ section.

Step 2: Select the ‘Channels’ tab to browse and find the ones you want to follow. Tap on the channel to browse through all the posts. When you find a channel you’re interested in, tap the little ‘+’ sign in the top corner to follow it. It turns into a checkmark to show you’re successfully following. If you want to unfollow, just tap the checkmark.

Step 3: After you follow a few channels, the ‘News’ tab will fill with updates.

How to find places

nearby places main screen - find what you are looking for in your local area selected nearby location screen

Step 1: In ‘Explore’ select ‘Places’. With your location enabled on your device, you can see which places are near where you are.

Step 2: If you see one of interest, tap on it to get more information. You can use this to help find restaurants, supermarkets, petrol stations, or other amenities you may need.

Additional features

activities tab in eyetime app - notifications on followed channels, contact updates

The ‘Activities’ section of the app shows you your history of messaging activities, like if you start a new chat with a contact or get invited into a group chat.

There are more features under the main chat screen:

sending a contact through instant message main contact list screnn

You can send contact information in a chat.

attach and send files from main chat screen option select video or image files to send via main chat window

You can send photos or videos.

location sharing option through the main chat screen share live location confirmation screen in main chat screen

With your GPS enabled, you can send your live location.

set self-destructive message through main chat screen self-destructive message triggered in direct message

And finally, by tapping on the self-destructing messages button, you can make your messages disappear after 30 seconds. To make them stop self-destructing, tap the button again.

That’s everything about the eyetime app! If you have any more questions, feel free to reach out to us on our social media channels by sending us a message on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter or LinkedIn. Don’t forget to follow to stay up-to-date with the latest eyetime news! In case you missed it, you can find out what’s new with the latest version of eyetime in our previous blog here or by visiting our FAQ page.