Instant messaging is one of the main functions in the eyetime app. There’s a lot more to it than just sending a quick message though. From 1-to-1 messages, to group chats and self-destructing messages, we’re going to explain everything, from the basics of starting a chat to all the little features that exist to make chatting on eyetime so fun.

 

The basics

If you’re brand new to the eyetime app and aren’t sure how to start a new chat, never fear – it’s simple. You don’t even need to import your contacts from your phone. As long as your friends are using eyetime, you will be able to find them in the app without doing any extra steps. 

From the main chat screen, simply tap the ‘+’ sign in the top right corner. A drop-down menu will appear, and you should see the choices Invite Friends, New chat, New group, Follow a channel, and Open invitations. Tap New chat to start a one-on-one conversation with someone, which will take you to the search screen. Type in your friend’s username, choose them from the list of eyetime users, and your new chat will automatically open. Now you’re ready to start sending messages! 

Starting a group chat is a similar process, starting by tapping the ‘+’ sign and getting to that same drop-down menu. Tap New group instead of New chat, and the app will prompt you for a group subject. This is where you name your group. We suggest choosing something that describes the point of the group chat so every participant can easily identify it. Once you’ve named it, tap Create group and your new chat is ready. But a group chat isn’t any fun without any members! Tap the Add user icon in the top right corner to search and add people. As the group admin, you can see and manage your participants by tapping the Info icon. 

Privacy settings

The default settings on eyetime are set so you can be automatically added into a one-on-one chat or into a group chat. You can easily change this setting so you have to approve any new conversation. 

To turn off automatic invites, tap your profile icon in the top left of the screen. Tap Privacy and then turn off the automatic invites for chats, groups or both. Now any user who wants to chat with you has to send a request, which you can approve or deny. You can also choose to block someone when they send you a request so they cannot contact you on eyetime anymore.

If you block someone by mistake, never fear! You can unblock them by going to your profile, tapping Blocked users, and unblocking your contact.

Other chat features

The chat features on eyetime are what really take the experience to the next level. 

Want to send more than just a basic text? You can send images, videos and voice notes all from directly in the chat. To send a video or image, tap the image icon second from the left along the bottom of your chat screen. If you want to take a photo and send it, tap the middle grey circle. Your camera will turn on and you will be able to snap a picture and send it by pressing the blue checkmark. 

To send a voice note, press and hold on the blue microphone button at the bottom of your chat screen. As long as you’re holding the button, you will be recording. Let go to stop recording and it will automatically send your voice note. If you want to cancel the recording, slide your finger across the screen to the left. 

You can also send self-destructing messages that disappear after 30 seconds for the ultimate private conversation. In a chat, tap the icon on the bottom right that looks like a lock inside a speech bubble. It will change into a 30s icon. Any messages you send while it appears as the 30s icon will be self-destructing. To turn it off, simply tap the icon again. 

Finally, you can share your location with your chat by tapping the Location icon second from the right along the bottom of the chat screen. Make sure your location on your phone is enabled first. When you tap the icon, confirm you want to send your location, and then a map will be sent to your chat. Now your friends can see exactly where you are. 

If you need more information, you can check out our complete guide to eyetime for more detailed step-by-step instructions on how to use all the eyetime features. 

Don’t forget to follow eyetime on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and LinkedIn for app news and updates. Happy chatting! 

Related Post